Digs and Duds

December Digs and Duds

Hello my lovelies!

It’s that time again for me to share with you all my favorite items, and my not so favorite items of the month! I’ve got quite a few products to share with you guys, so let’s get started.


 

Digs

LOC by Tati eyeshadow stick in Nite Owl – I got this in a Birchbox, and I’m happy to say that this eyeshadow stick is pretty great. The color payoff is wonderful, and blends really well with any brush of your choice. The color does appear slightly sparkly, but goes on a little more matte, which I prefer, however if you expect a sparkly payoff, then this shadow stick isn’t for you.

NYX cosmetics Liquid Blackliner in Matte – LOVE this eyeliner. Absolutely no flaking, and truly is a matte product. The brush is so incredibly tiny, making it great for lining your lash line and creating a perfect cat eye. I could not be happier with this product.

NYX Cosmetics the Skinny Mascara in Black – I love the cuteness factor of the tiny little brush, but the mascara quality is even better. I generally have a lot of issues with many drugstore mascaras, as they cause a lot of irritation for me. However, this mascara does not give me any problems, and it really grabs on to every single bottom lash, whether you have a ton, like me, or none.

Benefit They’re Real! Tinted Primer – I admit I did not expect much from this product, as I am not Benefit’s number one fan. Nothing personal, I’ve just never found products that work for me! I was pleasantly surprised by this primer, and I actually love it. I love that it separates my lashes and readies them for ANY mascara. I was so pleased to discover that this primer wasn’t part of the “only works with our brand” gimmick.

Maybelline Eyestudio 24hr Eyeshadow in Barely Branded and Inked In Pink – I’m going to be honest, I was initially disappointed in these eyeshadows. Now, I’ve realized that these make for GREAT bases under a regular powder shadow. Also on a good note, the pink eyeshadow does not make you look like you have Pink Eye with a more fabulous twist.

Maybelline Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser in Brightener – I will be the first to tell you that I don’t need help with anti-aging, but I love this as a corrector. Does not crease at all, likely because of its thin but effective consistency. PSA, this is NOT a concealer, unless you like a pink under eye look, in which case I say, do you.

Maybelline Fit Me Matte+Poreless Foundation in 110 – This foundation is one of the few drugstore foundations that I actually reach for in my collection. It has a watery consistency that I actually like, as it makes the product quite blendable. Although, if you have any dry patches, like I sometimes have during winter, this foundation will not only offer no coverage for them, but also highlight them. Despite this, I love this foundation especially during summer time when I need a more full faced look.

Maybelline Fit Me Matte+Poreless Face Powder in 110 – For a drugstore item, I really enjoy the coverage and quality of this powder. This powder does not lead to a lot of caking up, and definitely helps with controlling shine. I also find that this powder isn’t as drying as many matte powders end up being, which is also a huge plus.

Sephora Bright Set Loose Finishing Powder – I’ll say right now that I completely disagree with the “full face finishing powder” advertisement that this product gets. However, I love placing this powder under my eyes with a sponge to sit, then brush it away with a small powder brush. This powder does not crease me up and settle into my fine lines, which yes, I do have. As for brightening, it does appear to be more of a yellowy brightness, so if that’s not your thing, I would steer away from this product.

Real Techniques Beauty Sponge – As far as using this sponge for foundation is concerned, not my favorite. I feel that it is far too dense for liquids products. Fortunately, I do love this sponge for setting liquid items with powders. The flat side of the sponge works so much better than any brush I own to pick up powder and pack it on. I really want to love this sponge for my foundation so that I can stop spending 20 dollars on a beauty blender, so I will keep trying this sponge over and over until I (hopefully) do.


 

Duds

Too Faced Primed and Poreless Primer – I don’t hate this product, but I personally feel like it doesn’t do anything for me. This primer is supposed to minimize the look of my pores, but I find that it sits on top of my skin more than blur my imperfections. I also find that it makes my skin even drier around the areas that I am already having problems with, which I have never had before, even with my extremely mattifying primers.

NYX Cosmetics Wonder Stick in Universal – This product is the definition of a dud for me. The highlighting end is an extremely yellow painting stick, which has no highlighting qualities. The contouring end isn’t dark enough, even for someone as pale as me, and really doesn’t appear on my skin. Formula is fine, but the colors are completely wrong.

Maybelline Age Rewind Eraser in Creamy Ivory – I’m not sure if this is supposed to be a foundation or concealer, but it didn’t work for me either way. If this is a foundation, it doesn’t provide enough coverage to really be considered foundation, and if this is a concealer, it still doesn’t provide enough coverage to be a concealer. All in all, i am very confused by this product to say the least.

Benefit Roller Lash – Since the tinted primer was such a hit with me, I decided to try this new mascara from Benefit in the hopes that it too would be a new favorite. Unfortunately, the formula drives my eye bonkers, and I had to take it off after about 10 minutes the first (and last) time I used it. As for the lifting qualities, I really didn’t see any, which was highly disappointing for a mascara that is literally meant for that. Once again, I find myself mostly disillusioned with this brand.


That’s all for this month’s digs and duds! I hope at least one of you finds this useful!

Stay Beautiful!

 

 

Leave a Reply

