Digs and Duds

March Digs and Duds

Hello my lovelies!

The start of April, for me, has been absolutely crazy. Starting April 1st, I’ve had show practice for my ice arena, for which I am participating in two numbers, co-coaching two numbers, and solo-coaching two numbers, for a total of six numbers. Yes, I put a lot on my plate. Additionally, my 18th birthday was on the 7th of April, so of course I had a couple large family get togethers for that event.

Moving on, March was a good month for new beauty products. I feel that spring in general is great timing for new products, but so many brands did an amazing job with new spring items, and I am just in awe.

Here’s what I have for you this month:


Digs

Sephora Color Switch by Vera Mona – I LOVE LOVE LOVE this thing. The sponge in this tin undoubtedly removes any powder products on my eye brushes, and I can even use it on my larger powder brushes. I actually made my own replica using store bought items to see if it was *really* the same thing. Don’t believe people who say it’s the same. I promise you, it’s absolutely not the same end product. The price may seem obnoxious at 18 dollars, but you definitely get great use out of this. Disclaimer, this product is NOT a replacement for using actual brush cleanser. You still need to clean your brushes with soap at least every two weeks to eliminate bacteria.

It Cosmetics Number 106 Airbrush Foundation Brush – I generally do not like using brushes for my liquid foundation products, simply because I prefer the finish of a beauty blender application. However, I love using this brush for color correcting, as it pushes the product into my skin as if it were a foundation. This is especially nice for my under eye corrector.

Up&Up by Target Powder Brush – I feel kind of silly saying this, but I am really loving this brush for blending out my blush. I like to initially pack on my blush for color saturation, then buff it out with an all over face brush like this one. The hair is SO soft and doesn’t shed at all. Seriously, check out the target makeup brushes, they’re quite the hidden gem.

Lancôme Blush Subtil in Aplum – I know many people often complain about Lancôme blush textures, but to me, they feel exactly like the face powders which I am in love with. When I look for a blush, I look for consistency, not pigmentation, because blushes can be buildable. However, I do love this color. It’s a plummy mauve that I adore, especially for my skin tone. Also, quick shoutout to Lancôme for being one of the more diverse cosmetic brands out there. It really grinds my gears when brands don’t bother to appeal to ALL skin tones, and I feel that Lancôme is pretty inclusive for a high end brand.

Stila Huge Extreme Lash Mascara – I feel like Stila often doesn’t get much talk about their products, and I find it to be one of the most underrated brands out there. This formula is SOOO nice, like I would rub it all over my face if that weren’t weird nice. The formula is very creamy, which I prefer, as I don’t like stuff formulas. I think it is easily comparable to Lancôme’s formula, just a cheaper version. Funnily enough, I also really like the brush. If you like the brush of Too Faced’s Better than Sex mascara, then you would definitely like this brush as well.

Max Factor Color Elixir Lip Liner in 02 Pink Petal – at first, I really wasn’t impressed by this lip liner. The quality is great, however I noticed as I swatched it that it had a small amount of sparkle to it. I sat there thinking “well what the hell is this” but I ended up putting it on and loving it. The sparkle factor was nowhere near as aggressive on my lips, and I really like the peachy color. In fact, I think the sparkle helped make the liner look less dried out and cracked.

NYX Lip Liner in SPL854 Pale Pink – This is my absolute favorite nude liner of all time. This pencil is matte, yet so incredibly creamy and pigmented, and it pretty much works under whatever lip color you want, or on its own. I actually go for my NYX liners over my Urban Decay liners now, something I thought would never happen.

BEAU Chelsea Boot from Topshop – Now that I am out of school, I have all this freedom to wear heeled shoes, which I prefer to flat shoes. I have been wearing my boots pretty much every other day. They’re so comfortable to walk in, I actually put them to the test while in London, and they’re actually a pretty easy style to find, regardless of the brand you choose.

“Close” By Nick Jonas ft. Tove Lo – I am shamelessly on the Nick Jonas bandwagon, always have been, always will be. I don’t really have anything in particular about this song that I like, I just know that I REALLY like it. I can’t wait for the full album to be out, that’s for sure.


Duds

Quick disclaimer: While these products are under my “duds” category, it should be noted that I disliked none of these products, I just don’t find them special in any way.

Revlon Blush Brush – This brush is great for packing on blush, but it does an absolutely terrible job at diffusing the saturation of your blush. Again, just not a favorite of mine. It works, but this brush is just too dense and stiff to lend any blendability.

Kiko Cosmetics Skin Evolution Foundation in 101 Ivory – Another shoutout to a brand that makes a conscious effort to include differing skin tones, this foundation ACTUALLY matches me perfectly. Unfortunately, this foundation formula didn’t wow me at all. It reminds me of all the qualities in the Loreal Pro Matte Foundation that I don’t admire nearly as well. Again, the product is fine, it just wasn’t special.

Max Factor Creme Puff Blush in Number 30 Gorgeous Berries – This blush is PIGMENTED. You barely touch the product and it’s all over your brush. However, the texture is very chalky to me, which makes it very hard to blend out, but not impossible.


That’s all I have for everyone today. Make sure to have a lovely week. Also, please like, comment and subscribe to my blog, it really helps me out!

Stay beautiful!

Leave a Reply

